Free Web Space | BlueHost Review  














    Sorsogon State College (SSC) is the  former Sorsogon College of Arts and Trades (SCAT), which was found in 1907 and consider one of the oldest trade schools in the Philippines. After 86  years of existence, the school was made into a state college by virtue of Republic Act No. 7666, approved by Pres. Fedel V. Ramos  on December 31, 1993.

    The conversation of the College was sponsored by Hon. Salvador H. Escudero, III,  representative,1st District of Sorsogon, and Sen. Leticia Ramos Shahani facilitated its approval at the Senate.

    SSC is operationalized through a province-wide umbrella system where four vocational technical schools were integrated.

    The SCAT which serves as the main campus was renamed School of Industrial Technology and Education(SITE), Sorsogon Campus; Sorsogon National Agriculture School (SNAS) now known as School of Agriculture and agriculture-based Technology (SAABT), Castilla Campus; Bulan Vocational high School, now called as Institute of Management and information Technology (IMIT), Bulan Campus; Magallanes School of Fisheries (MSF) is now School of Fisheries and Fishery-Based Technology (SFFBT), Magallanes Campus.

    The two-year transition period was supervised by Dr. Dionesia A. Rola, consultant, Congressional Oversight Committee on Education (COCED), with Mr. Bonifacio H. Ativoas OIC president. The subsidiary campuses were headed by the incumbent administrators, namely: Mr. Manuel R. Deyto (Bulan Campus); Engr. Dominador T. Marinez, (castilla Campus);and Mr. Marcial T. Borja, (Magallanes Campus). A support staff was composed of Ms. Luz L. Angeles   for Program; Dr. Pablito V. Marbella for Human Resources Development and Mrs. Marilyn D. BErdin  for Budget.

    The first Board of Trustees (BOT) was composed of Dr. Ricardo T. Gloria, Secretary of Education, culture and Sports as chair; Rep. Salvador H. Escudero, III, Sen. Letecia Ramos Shahani and Mr. Bonifacio H. Ativo as members.

    His appiontment was signed by Pres. Fidel V. Ramos on September 18, 1995; took his oath of office at Malacaņang Palace on November 21, 1995 and officially assumed his position as President of the Sorsogon State College on December 4, 1995.

    Dr. Nieves' six-year incumbency is high lightened by rigorous reforms and innovation towards a vision  driven management strategies strongly supported by the Dumlao-Valisno as chair; Sen. Teresa Aquino -Oreta, chair, Senate Committee on Education; Rep.Eduardo B. Nachura, chair, Congressional Committee on Education; Dr. Marlene Ca. P. Rodriguez, director, NEDA, Region V; Dr. Eriberta B. Nepomuceno, director, Region V; Capt. Sharon G. Gernale, president, SSC Alumni Federation; Anthony M. Bravo, president, SSC Faculty Federation; Mr. Chistian A. Luna president, SSC Student Federation, as member and Mrs. Marilyn D. Berdin, GASS director as acting BOT secretary.